At its meeting on 27 September 2019, the Federal Council decided to implement the Federal Act on the Implementation of Recommendations of the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes (“Global Forum”) by the November 1st, 2019.

From this date, bearer shares will no longer be authorized, unless the company has shares listed on stock exchange or if they are issued as uncertified securities (section 622 para. 1bis of the Swiss Code of Obligations (“CO”)). Such grounds must be registered in the Commercial Register, which the Board of Directors must request until April 30th, 2021 (section 622 para. 2bis CO and section 2 of the transitional provisions of the amendment of June 21st, 2019 (“trans. prov.”)). In the absence of any grounds for exception, the Commercial Registry Office must reject any request for registration relating to the issue of new bearer shares or request to retain such existing shares. As from May 1st, 2021, bearer shares that have not been registered in the Commercial Register will automatically be converted into registered shares (section 4 para. 1 trans. prov.).

In this respect, it will be up to the Board of Directors to update the share register and register the holders of converted shares who have complied with the duty of notification. Indeed, according to section 697i CO of the former law, shareholders were required to notify the company when acquiring unlisted bearer shares (first name, address…). For shareholders who have not complied with this obligation by April 30th, 2021, the Board of Directors must add a note to the register stating that these persons have not complied with the duty of notification and cannot therefore exercise the rights associated with their shares (section 6 al. 1 and 2 trans. prov.).

Shareholders whose bearer shares have been converted but who have not notified the company have a grace period of 5 years from the entry into force of this new law, i.e. until October 31st, 2024, to apply to the Court and ask to be listed in the share register, in order to have their status as shareholders recognized and to obtain the reactivation of their rights (section 7 al. 1 trans. prov.). After this grace period, they will be definitively deprived of their rights as shareholders (section 8 para. 1 trans. prov.).

Indeed, according to section 8 para. 1 trans. prov., the shares of shareholders who have not notified and who have been converted will be automatically cancelled. These shares will then be replaced by own shares that the company may freely dispose of.

Nevertheless, a shareholder whose shares have been cancelled and who can demonstrate that he has not been at fault has a right for compensation from the company (section 8 para. 2 trans. prov.) until October 31st, 2034.

In the event of a breach of company law rules on transparency, the new section 731b of the CO provides for a new procedure for deficiencies in the organization of the company, when the share register or the list of beneficial owners is not kept in accordance with legal requirements. The Court will thus be able to take all necessary measures to restore a situation in accordance with the law.

In addition, two new criminal provisions entered into force on November 1st, 2019. First, section 327 of the Criminal Code (“CP”) imposes a fine on anyone who intentionally violates the obligations set out in section 697j para. 1 to 4 or 790a para. 1 to 4 of the CO to announce the beneficial owner of the shares or the capital contributions. In addition, section 327a CP punishes anyone who intentionally violates the obligations of company law on the maintenance of lists and registers, in particular within the meaning of section 686 (1) to (3) and (5) CO and 697l CO.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.


Tags:


Flux RSS  

Access our RSS feeds

Lors de sa séance du 27 septembre 2019, le Conseil fédéral a pris la décision d’implémenter la Loi fédérale sur la mise en œuvre des recommandations du Forum mondial sur la transparence et l’échange de renseignements à des fins fiscales (« Forum Mondial ») au 1er novembre 2019.

A compter de cette date, les actions au porteur ne seront plus autorisées, à moins que la société ait des titres de participation cotés en bourse ou si celles-ci sont émises sous formes de titres intermédiés (art. 622 al. 1bis du Code des Obligations (« CO »)). De tels motifs devront être inscrits au Registre du commerce, inscription qu’il reviendra au Conseil d’administration de requérir et ce, jusqu’en date du 30 avril 2021 (art. 622 al. 2bis CO et art. 2 des dispositions transitoires de la modification du 21 juin 2019 (« disp. trans. »)). En l’absence de motif d’exception, l’Office du Registre du commerce devra rejeter toute réquisition d’inscription portant sur l’émission de nouvelles actions au porteur ou sur une demande de conservation de telles actions déjà existantes. Dès le 1er mai 2021, les actions au porteur qui n’auront pas fait objet d’une inscription au Registre du commerce seront converties d’office en actions nominatives (art. 4 al. 1 disp. trans).

A cet égard, il reviendra au Conseil d’administration d’actualiser le registre des actions et d’y inscrire les détenteurs d’actions converties qui se seront conformés à l’obligation d’annoncer. En effet, selon l’art. 697i CO de l’ancien droit, les actionnaires étaient tenus de s’annoncer auprès de la société lors de l’acquisition d’actions au porteur non cotés en bourse (non, prénom, adresse…). Pour les actionnaires qui ne se seront pas conformés à cette obligation d’ici le 30 avril 2021, le Conseil d’administration devra ajouter une mention au registre, selon laquelle ces personnes ne se sont pas annoncées et ne peuvent dès lors exercer les droits liés à leurs actions (art. 6 al. 1 et 2 disp. trans).

Les actionnaires dont les actions au porteur ont été converties mais qui ne se sont pas annoncés à la société disposent d’un délai de grâce de 5 ans à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du cette nouvelle loi, soit jusqu’au 31 octobre 2024, pour requérir du tribunal leur inscription au registre des actions et ce, afin de faire reconnaitre leur qualité d’actionnaire et d’obtenir la réactivation de leurs droits (art. 7 al. 1 dips. trans.). Passé ce délai, ils seront définitivement déchus de leurs droits d’actionnaire (art. 8 al. 1 disp. trans.).

En effet, selon l’art. 8 al. 1 dips. trans., les actions des actionnaires qui ne se sont pas annoncés et qui ont été converties seront annulées d’office. Ces actions seront ensuite remplacées par des actions propres dont la société pourra disposer librement.

Néanmoins, l’actionnaire dont les actions ont été annulées et qui peut démontrer son absence de faute, dispose d’un droit à une indemnisation à l’égard de la société (art. 8 al. 2 disp. trans.) et ce, jusqu’au 31 octobre 2034.

En cas de violation des règles du droit des sociétés en matière de transparence, le nouvel article 731b du CO prévoit une nouvelle procédure pour carences dans l’organisation de la société lorsque le registre des actions ou la liste des ayants droits économiques n’est pas tenu conformément aux prescriptions légales. Le tribunal sera, par ce biais, en mesure de prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires en vue de rétablir une situation conforme au droit.

Pour le surplus, deux nouvelles dispositions pénales sont entrées en vigueur le 1er novembre 2019. Tout d’abord, l’art. 327 du Code pénal (« CP ») condamne à une amende quiconque contrevient intentionnellement aux obligations visées par les art. 697j al. 1 à 4 ou 790a al. 1 à 4 du CO d’annoncer l’ayant droit économique des actions ou des parts sociales. En outre, l’art. 327a CP condamne quiconque viole intentionnellement les obligations du droit des sociétés sur la tenue des listes et des registres, notamment au sens des art. 686 al. 1 à 3 et 5 CO et 697l CO.

Nous restons à votre entière disposition pour tout renseignement complémentaire.


Tags: