In 1995, the Municipal Council of C. delivers a building permit for four chalets in a building area. The very next day, the plot is declared as being outside the building area following the confirmation of the amendment of the communal zone planification.

Two years after, S. asks several times the Municipal Council, orally and in writing, if the latter is competent to decide to transform the building permit (1 chalet instead of 4) and to transfer it to him. The communal authority contacts the Cantonal Service of Land Planning, without however transferring the case file, and obtains no answer. After a plenary meeting debate, the Municipal Council concludes that the municipality has indeed the competence to deliver such modified building permit. It informs S. accordingly. Therefore, S. starts the procedure to buy the plot, submits the housing project to public inquiry and receives the building authorization in 1997. His house is built the same year.

After the cancellation of the sale contract of his property in 2013, S. requests from the Cantonal Commission of Constructions of the Valais canton (CCC) to decide upon the validity of his building authorization dating back from 1997. Based on the federal jurisprudence, the CCC ascertains that said permit is void due to the lack of jurisdiction of the municipality outside the building area and considering that S. had acted in bad faith (he should have realized that the municipality was lacking jurisdiction and, therefore, he should have considered its decision as invalid). Nevertheless, the CCC decides not to order the rehabilitation of the area (demolition). The appeal bodies (State Council and Cantonal Court) confirm said decision. The Federal Office of Territorial Development files an appeal before the Federal Court. Said appeal is partially admitted by the Court, which confirms the nullity of the municipal authorization but sends the case back to the State Council for it to examine if the conditions of a rehabilitation of the area (demolition) are fulfilled.

Concerning the first aspect of the decision, it should be highlighted that all Court levels considered that the applicant for the authorization could not benefit from the good faith protection principle by invoking having trusted the municipal authority. They estimated that it did not matter that S. approached the municipality several times to be sure that it was indeed competent regarding the building authorization, thus rendering it particularly attentive to this formal aspect. The Courts did not take into account the clear attitude of the municipality, which officially materialized into two meetings of the Municipal Council, first by a debate on its competence, then on the delivery of the building authorization. The land use change from the initial authorization to its subsequent modification appears to be the decisive element which has determined the cantonal authorities to deny the good faith of the applicant.

On the other side, the public interest (which falls under the constitutional order) to the observance of the principles of separation between the built-up areas and the unbuilt areas and the struggle against the urban sprawl have prevailed over the trust that a citizen may put into the local authority and into the democratic system and the rule of law of our country.

The Courts have rigidly applied the current jurisprudence relating to building authorizations. Such severe practice is certainly due to the frequent violations of the legal requirements and to their bad application by the authorities, which is recurrent. This situation cannot justify however that a private owner has to suffer the consequences of the failure of the authorities, which should be the ones to be sanctioned.

Since the fact of not questioning the attitude of a municipal authority in such circumstances is considered to be of bad faith, it will become impossible to trust such local authority and it will become necessary to always refer to the cantonal authority. On the other side, restoring the rule of law would imply to strongly reduce the autonomy of the local authorities, which are willing to keep the control over the management of the buildings on their entire territory.



Flux RSS  

Access our RSS feeds

En 1995, le conseil municipal de C. octroie une autorisation de construire quatre chalets en zone à bâtir. Le lendemain même, le terrain se retrouve hors de la zone à bâtir suite à l’homologation de la révision du plan communal d’affectation des zones.

Deux ans après, S. demande à plusieurs reprises, par oral et par écrit, au conseil municipal si celui était bien compétent pour décider de transformer ce permis (1chalet au lieu de 4) et de le lui transférer. L’autorité communale prend contact avec le service cantonal de l’aménagement du territoire mais ne lui transmet pas le dossier et n’obtient pas de réponse. Après un débat en séance plénière, le conseil municipal arrive à la conclusion que la Commune est bien compétente pour octroyer ce permis de construire transformé. Il en informe S. qui engage les démarches pour acheter le terrain et mettre son projet d’habitation à l’enquête publique et qui reçoit l’autorisation de construire en 1997. Sa maison est bâtie la même année.

Après l’annulation du contrat de vente de son bien en 2013, S. demande à la Commission cantonale des constructions du canton du Valais (CCC) de se prononcer sur la validité de son autorisation de construire de 1997. S’appuyant sur la jurisprudence fédérale, la CCC constate que ce permis est nul, faute de compétence de la Commune hors de la zone à bâtir et en considérant que S. était de mauvaise foi (c’est-à-dire qu’il aurait dû se rendre compte que la Commune n’était pas compétente et considérer sa décision comme non valable). La CCC décide cependant de ne pas ordonner la remise en état des lieux (démolition). Les instances de recours successives (Conseil d’Etat et Tribunal cantonal) confirment cette décision. Saisi d’un recours de la part de l’Office fédéral du développement territorial, le Tribunal fédéral admet partiellement le recours en confirmant la nullité de l’autorisation communale mais renvoie le dossier au Conseil d’Etat pour examiner si les conditions d’une remise en état (démolition) sont remplies.

Concernant le premier volet de la décision, il faut relever que toutes les instances ont considéré que le requérant de l’autorisation ne pouvait pas bénéficier du droit à la protection de sa bonne foi en invoquant avoir fait confiance en l’autorité communale. Pour elles, il importait peu que S. soit intervenu plusieurs fois auprès de la Commune pour s’assurer qu’elle était bien compétente en matière d’autorisation de construire en la rendant expressément attentive à cet aspect formel. Les instances n’ont en particulier tenu aucun compte de l’attitude claire de la Commune, concrétisée de manière officielle par deux séances du conseil municipal, d’abord par un débat sur la seule question de sa compétence puis sur l’octroi du permis de construire. Le changement de l’affectation du terrain entre l’autorisation d’origine et sa transformation ultérieure semble avoir été décisif pour que les autorités cantonales dénient la bonne foi du requérant.

D’un autre côté, l’intérêt public (d’ordre constitutionnel) au respect des principes de la séparation entre territoire bâti et territoire non construit ainsi de la lutte contre le mitage du territoire a été considéré comme supérieur à celui de la confiance que peut avoir le citoyen en l’autorité locale et dans le système démocratique de l’état de droit de notre pays.

Les instances ont appliqué sans nuance la jurisprudence actuelle en matière d’autorisation de construire. Cette pratique sévère est certainement due aux nombreuses violations des exigences légales et à leur mauvaise application récurrente par les autorités. Cette situation ne peut cependant pas justifier que le citoyen-propriétaire doive subir les conséquences de la défaillance des autorités qui elles seules devraient être sanctionnées.

Puisqu’il faut considérer que l’on est de mauvaise foi si l’on ne met pas en doute l’attitude d’une autorité communale dans de telles situations, il ne sera plus possible d’avoir confiance en cette autorité locale et il faudra toujours se référer à l’autorité cantonale. D’un autre côté, rétablir l’état de droit nécessiterait de réduire fortement l’autonomie des autorités locales qui veulent garder la gestion des constructions sur l’entièreté de leur territoire.