17 days to go before the new EU General Data Protection Regulation (« GDPR ») will come into effect on May 25, 2018. Yet, many businesses have not been brought up to speed regarding the implementation of the GDPR and many Swiss businesses seem to ignore they are also concerned by this new piece of European legislation, for instance where personal data is processed by a European subsidiary of a Swiss company, or where personal data is processed for a Swiss company by a subcontractor based in the EU, or where personal data is processed by a Swiss company regarding data subjects who are domiciled in the EU.
The rights of data subjects are enhanced and the principle of accountability is at the centre of the new rules, meaning that the data processor shall have the obligation to demonstrate its compliance with the GDPR provisions at all times.
Updating privacy policies and general terms and conditions is essential but does not suffice in itself. For instance, businesses need to conduct risk assessments to demonstrate compliance with the new rules set forth by the GDPR. Businesses also need to implement internal processes and control mechanisms to guarantee fulfilment of their obligations throughout the data processing.
Failure to comply with the GDPR can lead to a fine of a maximum of EUR 20 million or up to 4% of the company’s annual global income.
All queries should be addressed to Mr Sébastien Collart at sebastien.collart@100rhoneavocats.ch


Tags: ,


Flux RSS  

Access our RSS feeds

Plus que 17 jours avant l’entrée en vigueur du nouveau Règlement général de l’UE sur la protection des données (« RGPD ») le 25 mai 2018. Cependant, de nombreuses entreprises ne se sont pas encore familiarisées avec les exigences du RGPD et bon nombre d’entreprises suisses semblent ignorer qu’elles sont également concernées par la nouvelle législation européenne, par exemple lorsque des données personnelles sont traitées par une filiale européenne d’une société suisse, ou lorsque des données personnelles sont traitées pour une société suisse par un sous-traitant basé dans l’UE, ou lorsque des données personnelles sont traitées par une société suisse concernant des personnes domiciliés dans l’UE.

Les droits des personnes concernées sont développés et le principe de la responsabilité est consacré par les nouvelles règles, imposant que le responsable du traitement de données a l’obligation de démontrer sa conformité aux dispositions du RGPD en tout temps.

Mettre à jour sa politique de confidentialité et ses conditions générales est essentiel mais ne suffit pas en soi. Par exemple, les entreprises doivent effectuer des audits et évaluations des risques pour démontrer leur conformité aux nouvelles règles établies par le RGDP. Des processus internes et des mécanismes de contrôle doivent également être mis en œuvre afin de garantir le respect de leurs obligations pendant toute la durée du traitement des données.

Toute violation des règles du RGDP peut exposer l’entreprise responsable du traitement de données à une amende d’un montant maximal de 20 millions d’Euros ou correspondant à 4% de son chiffre d’affaires annuel mondial.

Veuillez adresser vos questions à Me Sébastien Collart sebastien.collart@100rhoneavocats.ch


Tags: ,