In its decision of 14 August 2018 (6B_689/2016), the Swiss Federal Supreme Court held for the first time that the breach of the duty to account is a criminal offence. Until that decision, only the civil nature of this breach had been judged by the Swiss Federal Supreme Court.

In that decision, an asset manager operating in the canton of Valais had received retrocessions from a custodian bank. However, the asset manager had not informed its clients of the existence of these retrocessions and, consequently, had not repaid these retrocessions to its clients either. In particular, the asset manager was found guilty of criminal mismanagement (Art. 158 para. 1 of the Swiss Criminal Code (“SCC”)) by the cantonal authorities and the Swiss Federal Supreme Court.

As a reminder, according to Art. 400 para. 1 of the Swiss Code of Obligations (“SCO”), “The agent must at the principal’s request, which may be made at any time, give an account of his agency activities and to return anything received for whatever reason as a result of such activities”. It is possible for the client, under certain conditions, to waive the return of retrocessions in advance. In this respect, the judgment briefly points out that a clause providing purely and simply that the asset manager keeps for itself the retrocessions granted by the banks and that the client waives the obligation to report these retrocessions to him and waives any claim in this respect is not valid.

Turning to criminal mismanagement, the majority of the Swiss scholars consider that an asset manager which does not inform its clients of the retrocessions it receives from the custodian bank, in violation of Art. 400 para. 1 SCO, commits an act of criminal mismanagement because the client is not in a position to claim from the asset manager the restitution to which he is entitled and therefore suffers damage.

The minority of the Swiss scholars state that the silence of the asset manager cannot be criminally punishable because such a repressive approach is considered contrary to the principle of the subsidiarity of criminal law with regard to civil law.

Eventually, a decision of the First Criminal Chamber of the Supreme Court of the Canton of Berne held that the manager’s silence is objectively punishable under Art. 158 para. 1 SCC.

In decision 6B_689/2016, the Swiss Federal Supreme Court points out that the sole breach of a duty to return a sum of money received by the manager from a third party is not an act of criminal mismanagement. In order to be criminally punishable, the manager’s conduct must be contrary to the client’s pecuniary interests and, consequently, damageable to the client. This point is not disputed in this case.

Then, the Swiss Federal Supreme Court observes that it has already held in the past that a corporate body of a management company assumes a position of guarantor towards its clients and that concealing information in violation of the duty of loyalty of the agent may constitute a fraud committed by omission. In the judgment under consideration, the Swiss Federal Supreme Court decided to apply this principle by analogy to criminal mismanagement. Indeed, it considers that the duty of accountability is a qualified obligation to act. This duty allows the principal to control that the agent’s activity is in accordance with the proper and faithful execution of the mandate; the information must enable the principal to claim what the agent must return to him, and if necessary, to claim damages as well. Therefore, the violation of this duty may be an act of criminal mismanagement punishable by Art. 158 para. 1 SCC.

The position of the Swiss Federal Supreme Court is not really surprising in view of the opinion of the majority of the Swiss scholars on this subject.

However, this decision must be analyzed with hindsight. Indeed, in this case, the defendant was not only the client’s asset manager but also its legal guardian. In addition, the defendant had committed other serious offences, including disregarding certain instructions ordered by the guardianship authority. All these circumstances probably played a role in the Swiss Federal Supreme Court’s decision making. However, the fact that the Swiss Federal Supreme Court issued a press release on 6 September 2018 relating to this decision tends to demonstrate that this judgment will be considered as an important judgment and not as an isolated decision.

Asset managers will therefore have to be very cautious. A breach of the duty to account may not only make them civilly liable but also criminally liable.

All queries should be addressed to Mr Sekandar Mokhtarzada sekandar.mokhtarzada@100rhoneavocats.ch



Flux RSS  

Access our RSS feeds

Dans son arrêt du 14 août 2018 (6B_689/2016), le Tribunal fédéral a, pour la première fois, conclu au caractère pénal de la violation du devoir de rendre compte. Jusqu’à cette décision, seul le caractère civil de cette violation avait été jugé par notre Haute Cour.

Dans cet arrêt, un gérant de fortune officiant dans le canton du Valais avait perçu des rétrocessions de la part d’une banque dépositaire. Toutefois, le gérant de fortune n’avait pas informé ses clients de l’existence de ces rétrocessions et, par conséquent, n’avait pas non plus reversé les montants y relatifs à ses clients. Le gérant de fortune a notamment été reconnu coupable de gestion déloyale (art. 158 ch. 1 CP) par les autorités cantonales et le Tribunal fédéral.

Pour rappel, selon l’art. 400 al. 1 CO, « Le mandataire est tenu, à la demande du mandant, de lui rendre en tout temps compte de sa gestion et de lui restituer tout ce qu’il a reçu de ce chef, à quelque titre que ce soit ». Il est possible pour le client, sous certaines conditions, de renoncer à la restitution des rétrocessions de manière anticipée. A cet égard, l’arrêt rappelle brièvement qu’une clause prévoyant purement et simplement que le gérant de fortune garde pour lui les rétrocessions accordés par les banques et que le client renonce à ce qu’on lui rende compte de ces rétrocessions et abandonne toute prétention à cet égard n’est pas valable.

Pour en revenir à la gestion déloyale, la majorité des auteurs estiment que le gérant de fortune qui n’informe pas son client sur les rétrocessions qu’il reçoit de la banque dépositaire, ceci en violation de l’art. 400 al. 1 CO, commet un acte de gestion déloyale parce que le client n’est pas en mesure de réclamer au gérant la restitution à laquelle il peut prétendre et subit par conséquent un dommage.

La doctrine minoritaire affirme que le silence du gérant ne peut être punissable pénalement car une telle approche répressive est tenue pour contraire au principe de la subsidiarité du droit pénal par rapport au droit civil.

Enfin, un jugement de la Ire Chambre pénale de la Cour suprême du canton de Berne a jugé que le silence du gérant est objectivement punissable au regard de l’art. 158 ch. 1 CP.

Dans l’arrêt 6B_689/2016, le Tribunal fédéral rappelle que la seule violation d’un devoir de restituer une somme d’argent que le gérant reçoit d’un tiers n’est pas un acte de gestion déloyale. Afin d’être pénalement répréhensible, le comportement du gérant doit être contraire aux intérêts pécuniaires du client et, par conséquent, dommageable à celui-ci. Le caractère dommageable n’est pas contesté en l’espèce.

Ensuite, notre Haute Cour rappelle qu’elle a déjà jugé par le passé que l’organe d’une société de gestion assume une position de garant envers ses clients et que dissimuler une information en violation du devoir de fidélité du mandataire peut s’inscrire dans une escroquerie commise par omission. Dans l’arrêt qui nous intéresse, le Tribunal fédéral a décidé d’appliquer ce principe par analogie à la gestion déloyale. En effet, il estime que le devoir du mandataire de rendre compte est une obligation accrue ou qualifiée d’agir. Le devoir de rendre compte permet au mandant de contrôler que l’activité du mandataire réponde à une bonne et fidèle exécution du mandat; l’information doit permettre au mandant de réclamer ce que le mandataire doit lui restituer, et s’il y a lieu, de lui réclamer également des dommages-intérêts. Par conséquent, la violation du devoir de rendre compte peut être un acte de gestion déloyale réprimé par l’art. 158 ch. 1 CP.

La position du Tribunal fédéral n’est pas vraiment surprenante au vu de l’avis de la doctrine majoritaire à ce sujet.

Il faut toutefois analyser cette décision avec un certain recul. En effet, dans cet arrêt, le prévenu n’était pas seulement le gérant de fortune du client mais également son tuteur. De plus, le prévenu avait commis d’autres infractions graves et avait notamment passé outre certaines directives ordonnées par la Chambre pupillaire. Toutes ces circonstances ont probablement joué un rôle dans la prise de décision du Tribunal fédéral. Cependant, le fait que le Tribunal fédéral ait, en date du 6 septembre 2018, publié un communiqué de presse relatif à cet arrêt tend à démontrer que ce jugement sera considéré comme un jugement important et non comme une décision isolée.

Les gérants de fortune devront par conséquent se montrer des plus prudents. Une violation du devoir de rendre compte pourra, non seulement les rendre responsables sur le plan civil, mais également coupable sur le plan pénal.

Veuillez adresser vos questions à Me Sekandar Mokhtarzada sekandar.mokhtarzada@100rhoneavocats.ch